The Problem with Military Science Fiction: Part 1

I might be in the minority here (am I?), but I’ve been looking for articles on military sci-fi for years. Thomas Evans presents one of the better articles I’ve found on the sub-genre. Very interesting and true.

The points that Thomas hits on, are the exact reasons why I rarely finish a military sci-fi book, yet the ones I do finish are the books I love the best.

I wish there were more books that didn’t have good guys be a lawful good Paladin and bad guys be chaotic-evil barbarians. Through them both in the gray zone, that makes for fun reading.

The Archaeologist's Guide to the Galaxy.. by Thomas Evans

This week, I am starting an open ended series of blogs is intended to consider why Military Science Fiction has such a bad reputation, and what (if anything) can be done about it.

Now, I should start by saying that I like MilFic.  I read MilFic, I write MilFic.  Some MilFic is truly tremendous stuff.  Heinlein’s Starship Troopers(1959) Haldeman’s The Forever War(1974) create bookends for some of the best MilFic out there: one gung-ho, the other anti-war.  Orson Scott Card‘s Ender’s Game (1977) is one of my favorite books regardless of genre (or subgenre).  Yet, Military Science Fiction is really considered a literary ghetto by many  people, even many Science Fiction fans. Considering that Sci-Fi in general is often considered a literary ghetto, that puts MilFic Smack-Dab in the middle of one of Literature’s worst neighborhoods.  This is unfortunate for many reasons, not least of which is that many of…

View original post 2,191 more words

2 thoughts on “The Problem with Military Science Fiction: Part 1

  1. Well, I looked for a way to connect to you off post, but since I couldn’t find one in the five minutes I happen to have, I just wanted to thank you for the repost, and most particularly note how honored I am that you enjoyed the article.

    All the best,
    Tom

    • It’s a fantastic article. You articulated all the things that nag me about military sci-fi, but I couldn’t really put into words. I love MilSciFi, but unfortunately most is really badly written.

Leave a Reply

