Reading with no luck until Peter Watts saves the day!

Private-library

It’s been a while since I’ve made a post about a book I just completed. If you look on the Hi There, you’ll notice I won’t bash books. What does that disclaimer have to do with anything?

it left zero lasting impression on me after I turned the last page

Well, I’ve started and stopped maybe twenty books since the last one I finished and posted about. I did manage to finish one book completely. While it wasn’t terrible by any stretch, it left zero lasting impression on me after I turned the last page.

This is the problem with not being able to just read anything I get my hands on. There’s a book I was reading for the last eleven days. Normally I finish a book, on average, in five days. I stopped reading it today, 2/3 finished with it, because I found no compelling reason to finish the book.

The unfortunate part of that visual is, it’s how I feel about most books I read.

There’s a weird alien thing in a host body. They’re fighting other weird alien things, and this cardboard character-duo may die or may get the girl. Who knows. I just kept picturing particleboard in the shape of a square, only it was all sawdust and no glue. The unfortunate part of that visual is, it’s how I feel about most books I read. The stories are just a bunch of sentences strung together to create either an incoherent mess or something that loses steam around the halfway point and hopes to coast to a finish.

It’s how I feel though, which is why I won’t publicly bash another author’s work. Bad form.

The voice of his stories is hauntingly captivating.

I have not given up on the written word of other authors, no matter how many “good stories” I find to be quite trite and not worth reading. Nay! I continue to plod along, starting and stopping these “good stories”, for I know I will eventually come across another story that sings to me, and I finally picked up that story. I am enjoying it with such intensity that I’m reading every single word.

ECHOPRAXIA by Peter Watts.

Peter Watts is amazing. The voice of his stories is hauntingly captivating. I really do feel the world is going to shit for the protagonist, but in an utterly gorgeous way that is quite oxymoronic. Don’t worry, my post where I gush about ECHOPRAXIA, will be more well thought out than this paragraph.

Now I just have to steel myself to be let down by another dozen books, before I find another one that I’ll finish, or…Maybe I’ll get lucky and the book after ECHOPRAXIA will be one I stay excited with from cover to cover.

One thought on “Reading with no luck until Peter Watts saves the day!

  1. Sometimes I have a hard time finishing books, too. One time I read a book that was so dry and ploddingly slow, that I almost put it down after the first chapter, but kept at it. The second chapter was the same, and as the third chapter began, I realized that the style resembled the main character–an elephant! Slow, colorless, and dry. Once I got hold of that, the rest of the story was good, even tho the tenor was the same. I’ve never forgotten it, and I think its because I’ve never read anything like it before or since. Jon, your first book got faster and more streamlined the further I read, and so captivating that I wanted to read a sequel. Maybe you’ll do that someday.
    Happy writing, Jon!

Leave a Reply

