Beasts of No Nation

Beasts_of_No_Nation_poster

The things that Nazi’s inflicted on Jews in the Holocaust are horrific on a level that almost defies comprehension. The child soldiers in Africa are no less horrific.

“This isn’t written by someone attempting to write something so horrific that the viewer is appalled.”

Beasts of No Nation is a film that will stay with me forever. I almost feel as if I can’t offer a critique on the film, and that’s why I am.

These are children taken from their family and perverted to live a life committing terrible deeds such that the word “terrible” falls short. And the thing with Beasts of No Nation is: it isn’t just a movie. This isn’t written by someone attempting to write something so horrific that the viewer is appalled. This is true. Children are indentured into armies and forced to kill for a cause they have no understanding of.

“And the thing with Beasts of No Nation is: it isn’t just a movie.”

I didn’t watch Beasts of No Nation and cringe and flinch throughout it. I didn’t watch it as if I were watching a proverbial train wreck. My mind was blank while I watched it, likely because if I analyzed the truth portrayed, too deeply, I would feel beyond terrible for not paying more attention to Africa.

“Will some people be disgusted and turn it off? Yes”

Should you watch Beasts of No Nation? I honestly can’t give a yes or no.

Will some people be disgusted and turn it off? Yes, but not because it is gory, though the movie pulls no punches, but because how terrible the stories of child soldiers are.

Is it a fucked up movie? It all depends on how you view it. I couldn’t look at it, and think, “Man, that shit over in Africa is just messed up. Why do they live like that?” I couldn’t, because looking at it that way would lose the message of the film.

“The level of terrible needed to indenture a child into a war just doesn’t compute.”

There are child soldiers in Africa, just like the Nazi’s committed atrocities.

Watching a film that shows what it may be like in the life of child soldiers drives the reality home and, to be honest, makes it damn near impossible to wrap my mind around.

I don’t understand, cannot fathom, why anyone would enlist children to fight for a cause that the child can’t possibly have an opinion on. It’s one thing to trick adults into fighting for a cause. The level of terrible needed to indenture a child into a war just doesn’t compute.

Beasts of No Nation is superbly done. I sincerely hope the world puts an end to child soldiers.

Leave a Reply

