The Phenomenal Work of Peter Heller – The Dog Stars

The Dog Stars

I was wandering around Goodreads a couple weeks ago, stumbled across a group Apocalypse Whenever. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman was being discussed. It really is the best book ever written. Wonderful, sad, uplifting. A tale of friendship and loneliness and wonder. A pure joy to read.

There’s a side bar on Goodreads threads, lists what books have been mentioned in the thread. The Dog Stars was one such book. I clicked on the link and saw they compared the writing a little to Gaiman’s. As Neil Gaiman is the a literary master with no equal I decided to give it a try. Looked on Overdrive, and there it was.

This book is…well it’s beautiful. Absolute first book I’ve read that I can say that about. It’s a stream of consciousness style, in a poetic way that has forced me to buy the book next time I’m at book store. I want to have the book in my hands, to read, and to study as I have done with American Gods.

The writing is unreal. I don’t really know how to describe it.

Describing The Dog Stars is like describing poetry. I’m not a poet. I don’t know where to begin when going over poetry. I know what I like with poetry. I like John Keats works, he tells a story with poetry. The Dog Stars is like John Keats. Not really. Both poets tell a story, but Heller’s work is more current. Modern.

The writing is beautiful. There’s a part with Hig’s dog, Hig is the main character, I damn near teared up reading it. The way he writes the words is powerful.

If you ever wondered what type of power words have in a fictional story, then The Dog Stars is the book you want to read. You will be right there with Hig as he goes through loss, and you’ll experience beauty through it. He describes a world of desolation, violence, horror and loneliness. To say the way the book is written is beauty stands in stark contrast to the content of the book. Yet there it is. Desolation described with beauty.

Read it. I don’t know how anyone could not like the book.

*     *     *

*     *

I did the book a disservice by attempting to write in the same style, but I feel compelled to try. I think it would be a joy to write an entire science fiction book in the same style.

* * * *
* * * *
* * *

Don’t forget to pick up a copy of ANDROID HUNTERS, the first book in the epic space opera THE CORLI SAGA. Then, love it or hate it, leave a review.
Drop new a line if you want to chat about sci-fi. I love talking about the genre.
Amazon
Google Play
Nook
Kobo

Leave a Reply

