A marvelous tale of artificial intelligence – vN

I love the library. I do wish authors made money on each time the book was checked out, then again there wouldn’t be libraries if that was the deal with publishers. The reason why I love libraries is by wandering the aisles looking for that science fiction sticker (the St. Petersburg Library System puts “Science Fiction” stickers on the spines of sci-fi books) I come across gems every now and then. First it was Fortune’s Pawn now it’s vN.

If you’re looking for military or A LOT of fighting, then look elsewhere. vN isn’t full of fighting but the story keeps the pages turning, makes it so you don’t want to put the book down.

Back to the library part though. I actually did pass up checking this book out. I looked at Amazon, and a bunch of reviews blasted the book. Talked about how Amy (the main characters/protagonist) was just a whiner and so on. Pretty sure they were expecting some ultra-violent book and were let down. I am glad I finally shrugged my shoulders and went with my gut. If I didn’t check out the book, I wouldn’t have been entertained for several days.

vN is a wonderful book. It’s thoughtful and puts a new spin on AI. Sure, the failsafe that prevents AIs from hurting humans is there, but it’s presented in a novel way. It’s not Aismov’s Three Laws reworded; which is great, as I’ve always been a sucker for AI stories, from Neal Asher’s super dark story telling to, now, Madeline Ashby’s thoughtful look on it. It’s just fun to read. Especially when it’s not “human’s inefficient, human’s die”. I have a post on that.

I do recommend vN. Don’t listen to those naysayers on Amazon, it’s a great book. It kept me turning pages and reading in the car. I’m looking forward to reading the next in this trilogy.

* * *
* *
*

Don’t forget to pick up a copy of ANDROID HUNTERS, the first book in the epic space opera THE CORLI SAGA. Then, love it or hate it, leave a review.
Drop new a line if you want to chat about sci-fi. I love talking about the genre.
Amazon
Google Play
Nook
Kobo

Leave a Reply

