Blindsight – Peter Watts

Blindsight_(book_cover)

Holy shit. Yeah I know I shouldn’t use obscenities as a descriptor but…holy shit.

Blindsight is amazing. The book that won the Hugo in 2007 must be mind-exploding, because this is a mind-blowing novel. I had to constantly look up words, but that seemed to add to the book. How it’s written, in a back and forth manner, actually works. Everything plays on everything else.

It reads so fast and yet it is vastly intricate. As intricate as the sentience and biology that permeate the book. There is so much to this novel that to make any direct references would ruin it for someone who hasn’t read it.

To say I enjoyed reading Blindsight would fall short. This is a book I know I will read multiple, five, ten times. There are very few books I do that with, but this is one of them.

And to think I had never even heard of Peter Watts until about a week ago when Google Play Books said it was like another book (don’t remember which one) I was looking at. Very happy I went out on a limb and bought it.

2 thoughts on “Blindsight – Peter Watts

  1. Just so you know, it did not win the Hugo in 2007, it was nominated. Vernor Vinge’s subpar Rainbows End won.

    • Never mind, I was confused by the phrasing of that sentence… You are referring to Vinge’s Rainbows End as the winer — alas, my apologies. But yes, you will probably be frustrated with Rainbows End. Nowhere near Vinge’s best. But he tends to win the Hugo every time he published a novel as of late.

Leave a Reply

